Postcards From…

Postcards From: A writer's journal and photographer's blog of just about anything that interests us.

End to End on the Bruce Trail

I’m so excited I think I’ve given myself fever. Or maybe my body is just gearing up for a hike I’ve wanted to do for a very long time. Today, my husband Ian and I (and now and then some companions) set out to conquer the Bruce Trail, End to End.

Image

By “a very long time,” I mean 14 years. I had the romantic notion back then that tackling the 800km of trails along the Niagara Escarpment, from Queenston Heights to Tobermory would be our Millenium Project. But life got in the way; a few kids to raise, an international relocation, and two demanding careers, to name a few. So here we are in 2014. We’ve hiked many sections of the Bruce in that time, but never done the whole thing from start to finish.

Image

Yesterday, we signed up as Bruce Trail Conservancy members in the Iroquoia Club region, dug out our 2000 Edition of the Bruce Trail Reference Guide from storage, and checked the BTC site for updates and reroutes (a very good thing to do, after 14 years!). We’re on our way to Queenston Heights. Niagara here we come!

Image

One comment on “End to End on the Bruce Trail

  1. Carolyn Marie Minaker
    May 18, 2014

    This sounds so exciting. Now is the time to do it. Good luck and keep at it. You’ve also given me an indication of how you feel. Great.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 18, 2014 by in Bruce Trail and tagged , , , , .
